'FOR THE PEOPLE'S SAKE'

Perlis ruler urges state to work closely with Putrajaya

ARAU: The state government has been urged to have a close working relationship with the Federal Government for the sake of the people.

Raja of Perlis Tuanku Syed Sirajuddin Putra Jamalullail said differences of political ideologies between the Barisan Nasional state government and Pakatan Harapan Federal Government should not be used as an excuse for a lack of a working relationship.

"I am confident that there are commonalities between the two governments when it comes to development that would benefit the people."

The ruler said this at an investiture ceremony in conjunction with his 75th birthday at Istana Arau, here.

Present were Raja Perempuan of Perlis Tuanku Tengku Fauziah Tengku Abdul Rashid, Raja Muda of Perlis Tuanku Syed Faizuddin Putra Jamalullail and Raja Puan Muda of Perlis Tuanku Lailatul Shahreen Akashah Khalil.

Prior to the ceremony, it was announced that the Sultan of Kedah Sultan Sallehuddin Sultan Badlishah would be conferred the Darjah Kerabat (DK). A special ceremony to present the award to him will be held later.

Federal Court judge Tan Sri
Hasan Lah led the list of 34 award



Raja of Perlis Tuanku Syed Sirajuddin Putra Jamalullail (left) presenting the Darjah Seri Paduka Mahkota Perlis award to Federal Court judge Tan Sri Hasan Lah at an investiture ceremony at Istana Arau in Perlis yesterday. PIC BY AZHAR RAMLI

recipients as the sole recipient of the Darjah Seri Paduka Mahkota Perlis (SPMP), which carries the "Datuk Seri" title.

Universiti Sains Malaysia Vice-Chancellor Prof Datuk Dr Asma Ismail was awarded the Darjah Datuk Paduka Mahkota Perlis (DPMP), which carries the "Datuk" title.

Five people were awarded Darjah Datuk Setia Paduka Tuanku Syed Sirajuddin Jamalullail (DSPJ), while four the Darjah Datuk Panglima Sirajuddin Jamalullail (DPSJ). Both awards carry the title of "Datuk".

The DSPJ recipients were former state executive council member Ahmad Bakri Ali; state Islamic Religious Council committee member Datuk Wan Ab Ghaffar Wan Ahmad; Majlis Amanah Rakyat (entrepreneurship) deputy director-general Zulfikri Osman; First Division Infantry commander at Muara Tuang Camp in Samarahan, Sarawak, Major General Toh Choon Siang; and Joint Task Force 2 commander at Kukusan Tawau Camp in Sabah, Brigadier general Zarondin Md Amin.

The DPSJ recipients were Pas spiritual leader Hashim Jasin; Tourism, Arts and Culture Ministry (tourism) deputy secretary-general Haslina Abdul Hamid; Human Resources Ministry (policy and international) deputy secretary-general Amir Omar; and National Unity and Integration Department (operations) deputy director-general Abdul Karim Abu Seman.

Five people were awarded the Darjah Setia Mahkota Perlis (SMP)

— state financial officer Nasarud-

din Abdul Muttalib; Universiti Kebangsaan Malaysia legal adviser Prof Dr Rohimi Shapiee; Home Ministry security and public order division secretary Yusran Shah Mohd Yusof; State Health Department director Dr Zaini Hussin; and Industrial Court of Malaysia chairman Datin Kalmizah Salleh.

Eighteen people were awarded the Darjah Seri Sirajuddin Perlis (SSP), among them are Universiti Malaysia Perlis Deputy Vice-Chancellor (research and innovation) Prof Dr Uda Hashim and Malaysian Consul-General in Melbourne, Australia, Westmoreland Edward Palon.

Another 262 recipients of various awards, and DPSJ recipient Senior Assistant Commissioner Ahmad Noordin Ismail, will receive their awards at a later ceremony.