

ANG KOON MENG (UCSI) WINS FYP 2019



by Ir. Dr Wang Hong Kok

2019 is the 3rd year for the Tan Sri Ir. Yusoff Best Final Year Project (FYP) Competition. Initiated by the IEM Education Fund, it is jointly conducted by IEM and The Institution of Engineering and Technology (IET).

The objective is to encourage engineering undergraduates to produce better quality FYPs. This competition is open to all universities and institutions of higher learning (IHL) with accredited engineering programmes. In the first 2 years, each university or IHL could only nominate the best FYP for submission.

This year, however, each university/IHL could submit only one nomination for each discipline and a total of 45 projects were received. They were 2 levels of assessment. Round 1, mainly on the project findings, contributed 80% of the total marks. In Round 2, students were assessed on presentation skills.

The organising committee members representing IEM, comprised Honorary Secretary Ir. Mohd Khir and Ir. Dr Wang Hong Kok. Representing IET were Associate Prof. Dr Lai Weng Kin and Mr. Indiran Nadarajan.

It was a privilege to have the following judges and we would like to extend to them our gratitude and thanks for their support.

Name	Faculty/Department
Dr Idris Ismail @ UTP	Computing & Information Technology
Dr John Tan @ SilTerra	Electrical & Electronic
Malaysia	Engineering
Mr. Pang Jia Yew @ Heriot	Electrical & Electronic
Watt Malaysia	Engineering
Ir. Dr Khor Jeen Ghee @	Electrical & Electronic
Plexus Manufacturing	Engineering
Dr Lim Li Li @ TARUC	Electrical & Electronic Engineering

Electrical & Electronic
Engineering
Material & Manufacturing
Material & Manufacturing
Civil Engineering
Civil Engineering
Mechanical Engineering
Mechanical Engineering
Mechatronic Engineering
Chemical Engineering
Chemical Engineering
Chemical Engineering
Electrical & Electronic Engineering
Mechanical, Material & Manufacturing
Mechanical, Material & Manufacturing
Mechanical Engineering
Civil Engineering
Petroleum Engineering
Petroleum Engineering



Winner for 2019 FYP: RM 1000 + Certificate

Name: Ang Koon Meng

University: **UCSI**

FYP Title: Development of Improved Particle

Swarm Optimisation Algorithm for

Constrained Optimisation.

Discipline: Mechatronic Engineering

Consolation Prize: RM 400 + Certificate

1. Name: Lee Wei Qin

University: Curtin University Malaysia

FYP Title: Cracks Identification in Building

Structure

Discipline: **Electrical Power Engineering**

2. Name: Heng Yen Fern

> University of Nottingham Malaysia University: FYP Title: Investigation of Jet Mixing in Swirl Co-

Discipline: Mechanical, Material & Manufacturing

3. Name: Tee Zhen Wei

> University: TAR University College

FYP Title: Numerical Analysis on Vibro-Acoustic

> Characterisation of Honeycomb Structure with Flor Permeability

Discipline: Mechanical Engineering

4. Name: Tan Jun Yan

University: **UTAR**

FYP Title: Study of Combined Effect of

Concentrated Solar Power (CSP) and

Phase Change Material (PCM) in Solar

Desalination

Discipline: Mechanical Engineering

5. Name: Lee Chong Hoe

> University: Universiti Malaysia Pahana (UMP) FYP Title: Diversity of Stress Ranges in Cables

of Cable-Stayed Bridge Due to Traffic

Loads and Far-Field Seismic Excitation

Discipline: Civil Engineering

6. Name: Tay Sze Yee

> University: Heriot-Watt University Malaysia

FYP Title: A Renewable Polysaccharide-Based

Bio-Sorbent Functionalised with

Calcium Chloride For Renewable of Azo

Dye Methyl Orange

Discipline: **Chemical Engineering**

This year we received participations from the faculties/ departments of Computing, Electronic Engineering, Electrical & Electronic Engineering, Civil Engineering, Mechanical Engineering, Petroleum Engineering, Mechatronic, Materials & Manufacturing, Agricultural & Biosystems Engineering, Biomedical and Chemical Engineering. We hope more students will be inspired to take part in the FYP competition next year.



Standing (I-r): Ang Koon Meng (winner of FYP 2019) and his supervisor Dr Lim Wei Hong from UCSI University. Seated (I-r): Judges representing IEM, Dr Amran Ayob and Ir. Dr Wang Hong Kok and judges representing IET, Dr Lai Weng Kin and Mr. Indiran Nadarajan





Finalists and their supervisors