

30 UniMAP Students Win Campus Election

Arau, 6 Dec - 30 students have won seats in the Universiti Malaysia Perlis (UniMAP) Campus Election (PRK), an annual ballot which allows UniMAP students to elect representatives for the 2018/2019 session Student Council (MPP).

Chairman of Student Representative Election Committee (JPPM) Nurhazwani Zabidin, who was also a former president (Yang DiPertua) of the 2016/2017 session UniMAP Student Council (MPP) said that 11 candidates contested in the General Constituency, while 40 other candidates contested in the School Constituency.

"However, there were only 33 seats available to be contested, consisting of seven General seats, 22 School seats, two Diploma seats and two International seats.

"Seven candidates won the General Constituency on the basis of number of votes and will fill the top posts of the UniMAP MPP, session 2018/2019," she told reporters soon after the announcement was made.

He further explained that for the School Constituency, 11 candidates won unopposed to represent their schools of study namely the School of Materials Engineering, the School of Environmental Engineering, the School of Mechatronic Engineering, the School of Bioprocess Engineering, the Faculty of Engineering Technology (FTK) and the Centre for Diploma Studies (PPD).

"Meanwhile, 12 other candidates won after winning the highest votes to represent the School of Computer and Communication Engineering, the School of Microelectronic Engineering, the School of Manufacturing Engineering, the School of Business Innovation and Technopreneurship (PPIPT), the School of Human

Development and Technocommunication and the Centre for International Studies.

"However, there were only one candidate sent each by the Schools of Bioprocess

Mechatronic Engineering and Engineering, Electrical System

respectively, and JPPM decided there would be no additions to the three empty

chairs," she said.

She added that 9,149 students or 79.27 per cent of 11,541 voters fulfilled their

responsibilities through e-voting.

When asked regarding the JPPM, she explained that it is a body established to

implement and facilitate the election process, and consists of the MPP, former MPP

members, UniMAP Election Commission (SPR) Secretariat and also independent

members from among the students.

"The JPPM consists 140 students; 40 JPPM main committee members and 100

polling location officers who have been on duty from November 16 until today,

December 5, 2018.

"This year was the first time that the PRK was fully conducted by students in line

with the wishes of the Malaysian Education Minister Yang Berhormat Dr. Maszlee

Malik who wants to reinvigorate political aspirations on campus," she said.

Dikeluarkan Oleh:

Nurul Aida Othman (aidaothman@unimap.edu.my)

Penolong Pegawai Perhubungan Media UniMAP

Tel: 04-9798522 / 012-2210095

Media UKK