36

Tan Sri Ir. Yusoff Best Final Year Project Competition 2017

IEM EDUCATION FUND

reported by



he first Tan Sri Ir. Yusoff Best Final Year Project (FYP) Competition was initiated by IEM Education Fund and jointly conducted by IEM and The Institution of Engineering and Technology Malaysia (IET). The objective was to encourage engineering undergraduates to produce quality FYPs.

The competition was opened to all universities with accredited engineering programmes and each university could nominate its best FYP for participation.

The organising committee comprised Ir. Mohd. Khir bin Muhammad and Ir. Dr Wang Hong Kok (both

from IEM) as well as Assoc. Prof. Dr Lai Weng Kin and Ir. Prof. Dr Leong Wai Yie (both from IET).

Invitation letters were sent to 37 accredited universities in August 2017, with responses from 24 universities when submissions closed.

All submissions were evaluated based on the aim, research objective, research questions, knowledge gap and major findings of their research.

The Organising Committee would like to thank the following judges for their contributions:

NO.	NAME	POST	UNIVERSITY
1.	Ir. Prof. Dr Jeffrey Chiang Choong Luin	Dean	SEGI University
2.	Assistant Professor Pang Jia Yew	Assistant Professor	Heriot-Watt University Malaysia
3.	Professor Madya Dr Kok Swee Leong	Associate Professor	Universiti Teknikal Malaysia Melaka
4.	Dr Baskaran Kasi	Senior Lecturer	Infrastructure University Kuala Lumpur
5.	Assistant Prof. Ir. Dr Idris Ismail	Associate Professor	Universiti Teknologi Petronas
6.	Ir. Prof. Dr Tee Tiam Ting	Professor	Universiti Tunku Abdul Rahman
7.	Ir. Dr Roslan bin Abdul Rahman	Adjunct Professor	Universiti Teknologi Malaysia



The President Ir Dr Tan Yean Chin presenting the Best Final Year Project Competition award to the winner

1ST TAN SRI IR. YUSOFF BEST FINAL YEAR PROJECT COMPETITION

Winner (RM1,000 + Certificate + Trophy)

: Yap Kian Kun

Universities: Malaysia - Japan International Institute of

Technology (MJIIT), Universiti Teknologi

Malaysia Kuala Lumpur (UTM)

FYP Title : Influences of Adsorbed Water on Adhesive

Wear

Discipline: Mechanical

SPECIAL PRIZE:

Major disciplines (RM300 cash + certificate)

1. Electronic

Name : Zech Chan Sze Zher

Universities: Universiti Tunku Abdul Rahman (UTAR) FYP Title : Skin-Alike Soft Sensing Wearable Device.

2. Civil

Name : Foo Swee Wen

Universities: Universiti Malaysia Sarawak (UNIMAS)

: 3D Modelling using solidworks - Wall-Mounted

Rainwater Tank for Stormwater Detention in

Commercial Areas.

3. Chemical

Name : Nur Fatin Ajeera binti Mohd Isa

Universities: Universiti Kebangsaan Malaysia (UKM) : Proses Penulenan Asid Suksinik Dari Medium

Sintetik dan Campuran Kaldu Fermentasi

Melalui Kedah Penghabluran.

There was no winner in the Electrical category. The Prize Giving ceremony was held on 21 April, 2018, during the IEM Annual General Meeting. ■

THE INSTITUTION OF ENGINEERS, MALAYSIA