FORUM

Report on IEM Chemical Engineering Technical Division Research Paper Competition



by Ir. Dr Lee Tin Sin

CHEMICAL ENGINEERING TECHNICAL DIVISION

IN conjunction with the 15th APCChE Congress (Asian Pacific Confederation of Chemical Engineering) on 18-23 August, 2013, at Coex, Seoul, Korea, the Chemical Engineering Technical Division (CETD) organised the 3rd Research Paper Competition.

The competition was opened to current chemical/biochemical/process engineering postgraduate students in public or private universities in Malaysia. Two winners were awarded travelling grants of RM3,000 each, to enable them to attend the Congress and present their papers.

Postgraduate students from Universiti Malaysia Pahang, University of Nottingham Malaysia and Universiti Kuala Lumpur took part. After the first round of evaluation of full research papers by the internal panels, six students were invited to give an oral presentation on 30 March, 2013. In general, the areas of research for the participants included process modelling, extraction and catalytic reaction.

After a thorough evaluation of both the full paper and oral presentation, the judges decided to give the awards to Mr. Ng Tong Lip (PhD student of University of Nottingham Malaysia Campus) and Miss Lee Hua Chyn (MEng student of Universiti Malaysia Pahang) for their outstanding works.



Ir. Prof. Dr Dominic Foo presenting the certificate to Mr. Ng Tong Lip

Ir. Prof. Dr Dominic Foo presenting the certificate to Ms Lee Hua Chyn

Mr. Ng presented "A Disjunction Modelling Approach for Synthesis and Optimisation of Industrial Symbiosis in Palm Oil Industry" while Miss Lee's work was on "Bio-syngas Production from Glycerol Dry Reforming Over Cement Clinker-supported Nickel Catalyst".

Finally, the CETD chairman Ir. Prof. Dr Dominic Foo presented certificates to the participants and wished them luck for their presentation at the coming APCChE Congress.

Ir. Dr Lee Tin Sin is assistant professor at the Chemical Engineering Department of Universiti Tunku Abdul Rahman (UTAR). He has been a committee member of IEM Chemical Engineering Technical Division (CETD) since 2011. Ir. Dr Lee won the 2012 Young Engineer Award of IEM.